Garoppolo, West, Daly lead AP FCS All-America team

Eastern Illinois quarterback Jimmy Garoppolo and fellow Walter

Payton Award finalist Terrance West of Towson were selected to The

Associated Press FCS All-America team released Wednesday.

Garoppolo passed for 5,050 yards and 53 touchdowns and won the

Payton award as the top player in FCS. The senior led Eastern

Illinois (12-2) to the quarterfinals of the NCAA playoffs. He is

the second EIU player to win the Payton award, joining Dallas

Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo (2002).

West has run for 2,295 yards and tied an FCS record with 39

touchdowns to help Towson (12-2) reach this weekend’s semifinals

after it eliminated Eastern Illinois last week.

Montana State defensive end Brad Daly, who won the Buck Buchanan

Award as the top defensive player in FCS, was selected to the

first-team defense, along with cornerback Marcus Williams of

two-time defending national champion North Dakota State.

North Dakota State also placed offensive tackle Billy Turner on

the first team. Turner, Williams and Eastern Illinois receiver Erik

Lora are first-team All-Americans for the second consecutive


Towson offensive lineman Eric Pike joined teammate West on the

first team. Eastern Washington, which hosts Towson in Saturday’s

semifinal, also had two first-team All-Americans in redshirt

freshman receiver Cooper Kupp and offensive lineman Ashton


Samford has linebacker Justin Shade and Fabian Truss at

all-purpose player on the first team. Montana had two first-teamers

in offensive lineman Danny Kistler and linebacker Jordan Tripp.

EWU quarterback Vernon Adams, who was runner-up to Garoppolo in

the Payton voting, made the second team, and North Dakota State

quarterback Brock Jensen was a third-team selection.

South Dakota State’s Zach Zenner, who ran for 2,015 yards and 23

touchdowns, is the other first-team running back. MyCole Pruitt of

Southern Illinois is the All-American tight end. Furman’s Dakota

Dozier rounds out the offensive line. Seth Sebastien of

Southeastern Louisiana is the kicker.

James Madison’s Stephon Robertson, who was runner-up to Daly for

the Buchanan award, joined Tripp and Shade at linebacker.

The other first-team defensive linemen are: Shaquille Riddick of

Gardner-Webb; Davis Tull of Chattanooga; and Sullivan Grosz of Cal


Joining Williams in the defensive backfield is Daniel

Fitzpatrick of Tennessee State, who leads the nation with eight

interceptions. Caleb Schaffitzel of Missouri State and Jerome

Couplin of William & Mary complete the secondary.

Kyle Loomis of Portland State is the All-America punter.