Florida to unveil Heisman Trophy statues April 9

Florida will unveil statues of its three Heisman Trophy winners

during halftime of the team’s spring game.

Life-sized representations of Steve Spurrier (1966), Danny

Wuerffel (1996) and Tim Tebow (2007) will be uncovered on the west

side of Ben Hill Griffin Stadium on April 9. The school says the

honorees will have some role in the event. Since South Carolina’s

spring game is the same day, Spurrier likely will offer a

videotaped message to his alma mater.

The statues weigh a combined 17,000 pounds and were provided to

the school through private donations.

Florida is one of eight schools with at least three Heisman

Trophy winners and one of two programs with at least three

quarterbacks who have won college football’s most prestigious