Florida State QB Winston wins Davey O’Brien Award

Florida State star Jameis Winston has won the Davey O’Brien

Award, given to the nation’s top quarterback.

The redshirt freshman was presented with the award Thursday

during the 23rd College Football Awards Show at Disney.

Winston, the Heisman Trophy favorite, hopes to join the past

three Davey O’Brien winners, who all went on to take home the

Heisman in the same year.

He led top-ranked Florida State to a 13-0 record and a berth in

the BCS national championship game against Auburn. Along the way,

Winston completed 67.9 percent of his passes for 3,820 yards and 38

touchdowns with 10 interceptions.

He becomes the third Seminoles player to win the award.

Winston was selected over fellow finalists AJ McCarron of

Alabama and Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M.