Florida St asst among finalists for Broyles

Florida State defensive coordinator Jeremy Pruitt and Duke

offensive coordinator Kurt Roper were among five finalists named

Monday for the Broyles Award, which honors the nation’s top

assistant college football coach.

Also selected as finalists were Auburn offensive coordinator

Rhett Lashlee, Baylor offensive coordinator Philip Montgomery and

Michigan State defensive coordinator Pat Narduzzi.

Pruitt and Roper’s teams face each other Saturday in the ACC

title game. If Florida State wins, the Seminoles will likely play

for the national championship Jan. 6.

A winner will be announced Dec. 10. The award, given by the

Rotary Club of Little Rock, is named for longtime Arkansas Coach

Frank Broyles, who was known for developing assistant coaches.