FCS playoffs projection

Richmond offensive lineman Thomas Evans (58), offensive lineman Patrick Kliebert (75) and running back Deontez Thompson (20) celebrate after the 37-20 win over Virginia in an NCAA collefe football game, Saturday Sept. 3, 2016, in Charlottesville, Va. (AP Photo/Andrew Shurtleff)

(STATS) – The Donald had Election Day being on Nov. 28 (oops!), the calendar says Nov. 8.

FCS fans are campaigning until Nov. 20 – Selection Sunday for the 24-team playoff field. Not a Tuesday, and certainly not a Monday, Mr. Trump.

Hillary knows the date because she'll be tuned in for an old favorite, Central Arkansas. Maybe Stony Brook, too.

Oh, wait, The Donald claimed Stony Brook already? Let 'em debate it, that's nastier than a Charleston Southern-Citadel matchup.

While there's three more weeks of action to blow up all our prediction brackets, we'll get an early look at what the selection committee is thinking. On Thursday, the NCAA will release the first of three weekly Top 10 rankings – a new feature leading into Election Day, er, Selection Sunday. The first rankings will air on ESPN's “College Football Live,” which begins at 3 p.m. ET.



*- automatic qualifier

Big Sky (4): Cal Poly (6-2), Eastern Washington (7-1), Montana (5-3), *North Dakota (7-2)

Big South (2): Charleston Southern (5-2), *Liberty (5-3)

CAA (5): *James Madison (7-1), New Hampshire (6-3), Richmond (7-1), Stony Brook (5-3), Villanova (6-2)

Missouri Valley (4): North Dakota State (7-1), *South Dakota State (5-3), Western Illinois (6-2), Youngstown State (6-2)

NEC (1): *Saint Francis (6-3)

OVC (1): *Jacksonville State (7-1)

Patriot (1): *Lehigh (7-2)

Pioneer (1): *San Diego (7-1)

Southern (3): Chattanooga (8-1), Samford (6-2), *The Citadel (8-0)

Southland (2): *Sam Houston State (8-0), Central Arkansas (7-1)

Moved In: Liberty (5-3), New Hampshire (6-3)

Dropped Out: Eastern Illinois (5-4), South Dakota (4-4)

On the Bubble: Eastern Illinois (5-4), Maine (5-3), North Carolina A&T (7-1)/North Carolina Central (6-2) loser, South Dakota (4-4)



Top 8 seeds have first-round byes

Villanova-New Hampshire winner at No. 1 seed North Dakota State

San Diego-Montana winner at No. 8 seed North Dakota

Samford-Charleston Southern winner at No. 5 seed The Citadel

Western Illinois-Chattanooga winner at No. 4 seed Sam Houston State

Lehigh-Liberty winner at No. 7 seed James Madison

Cal Poly-Central Arkansas winner at No. 2 seed Eastern Washington

Stony Brook-South Dakota State winner at No. 3 seed Jacksonville State

Saint Francis-Youngstown State winner at No. 6 seed Richmond