FCS playoff projections

North Dakota State celebrates after fullback Andrew Bonnet (46) scored against Jacksonville State during the first half of the FCS championship NCAA college football game, Saturday, Jan. 9, 2016, in Frisco, Texas. (AP Photo/Mike Stone)

(STATS) – Who's in, who's out?

Midseason is a time to start looking into the STATS crystal ball at the potential FCS playoff field. Selection Sunday is Nov. 20.

The big winner to date is CAA Football, which comes in with the most projected bids at five, and it's nearly six because Stony Brook is the first team left out of the 24-team field.

Some adjustments in the way the NCAA selection committee constructs the bracket will make for a more balanced field. Conferences with four or more bids won't be jammed into one side of the bracket and the committee can adjust a seed line to maintain balance (it's done below with Richmond and Youngstown State).



*- automatic qualifier

Big Sky (4): Cal Poly (3-2), *Eastern Washington (5-1), Montana (4-1), North Dakota (4-2)

Big South (1): *Charleston Southern (3-2)

CAA (5): Albany (4-1), *James Madison (5-1), New Hampshire (4-2), Richmond (5-1), Villanova (5-1)

Missouri Valley (4): *North Dakota State (5-0), South Dakota State (3-2), Western Illinois (4-1), Youngstown State (4-1)

NEC (1): *Duquesne (3-2)

OVC (2): *Jacksonville State (4-1), Eastern Illinois (4-2)

Patriot (1): *Lehigh (4-2)

Pioneer (1): *San Diego (4-1)

Southern (3): *Chattanooga (6-0), Samford (4-1), The Citadel (5-0)

Southland (2): *Sam Houston State (5-0), Central Arkansas (4-1)

Bubble Burst: Southern Utah (3-2), Stony Brook (3-2), Tennessee State (4-1), Wofford (4-2)



Top 8 seeds have first-round byes

Western Illinois-North Dakota winner at No. 1 seed North Dakota State

Charleston Southern-The Citadel winner at No. 8 seed Richmond

Cal Poly-Central Arkansas winner at No. 5 seed Sam Houston State

Duquesne-Albany winner at No. 4 seed Chattanooga

Eastern Illinois-South Dakota State winner at No. 7 seed Youngstown State

San Diego-Montana winner at No. 2 seed Eastern Washington

Samford-Lehigh winner at No. 3 seed Jacksonville State

Villanova-New Hampshire winner at No. 6 James Madison