Collins among nominees for College Football Hall of Fame

Penn State quarterback Kerry Collins is among the first-time nominees for the College Football Hall of Fame, the National Football Foundation revealed Tuesday.

The 1994 Davey O'Brien Award winner as the nation's best quarterback led the nation in passing efficiency as a senior as the Nittany Lions posted a perfect 12-0 record, won the Big Ten and finished No. 2 in the final national polls.

Collins had the best passer efficiency rating in the country and was also named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year and the winner of the Maxwell Award.

Taken No. 5 in the 1995 NFL draft, he is the last quarterback from the Big Ten to go in the first round.

Joining him on the 2016 College Football Hall of Fame ballot is Steve Wisniewski, an All-American offensive lineman for the 1986 PSU squad that went 12-0.

D.J. Dozier, who ran behind Wisniewski's offensive line, was among those who dropped off the ballot this year after being nominated last year.