Report: Playoff thins out bowl schedule for Dec. 31, Jan. 1

AT&T Stadium regularly hosts the Cotton Bowl, and in 2015, it will host college football's national championship game.

The Dec. 31 and Jan. 1 bowl schedule will include two fewer games this coming season because of college football’€™s new playoff, reported.

Instead of the 10 games that were part of last season’s schedule on those two days, only eight will be played this season, and just two of those will be ones without playoff game ties in the Outback and Capital One Bowls (which will continue to be played Jan. 1). The six bowls hosting playoff games will rotate those responsibilities throughout the College Football Playoff contract, which runs through the 2025 season.

So the two-day schedule will look like this:

Dec. 31:

Fiesta Bowl

Orange Bowl

Peach Bowl

Jan. 1:

Outback Bowl

Capital One Bowl

Cotton Bowl

Rose Bowl

Sugar Bowl

That means that two Dec. 31 bowls (Liberty and Sun) and two Jan. 1 bowls (Gator and Heart of Dallas) from last season will have new dates. The Gator is moving to Jan. 2, while the remaining three bowls have yet to nail down dates.

The Rose Bowl and Sugar Bowl host this year’s semifinals, with the national championship game being played Jan. 12 at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

A record 39 bowls will be played in 2014-15 –€“ four more than last season.