Beaschler, Schult are Campbell Trophy finalists

(STATS) – Dayton linebacker Chris Beaschler and Northern Iowa defensive end Karter Schult were named as two of the 12 finalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy, which recognizes the best football scholar-athlete in the nation.

Beaschler is a mechanical engineering major with a 3.72 grade-point average, and Schult has a 3.87 GPA in movement and exercise science.

The other finalists are from NCAA FBS, Division II and III programs.

The Campbell Trophy, known as the “Academic Heisman” award and presented by the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame, is named in honor of the former player and head coach at Columbia University.

Each finalist must be a senior or graduate student in his final season of eligibility and have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale. He also must display strong leadership and citizenship.

The finalists will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship. The winner will be announced Dec. 6 at the 59th NFF Annual Awards Dinner in New York and will have his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000.