Billings lands big honor, leads 9 Bears on All-Big 12 teams

Baylor junior defensive tackle Andrew Billings was named the Big 12 co-Defensive Player of the Year Wednesday.
Tom Pennington/Getty Images

Baylor defensive tackle Andrew Billings was named the Big 12’s co-Defensive Player of the Year as well as the Defensive Lineman of the Year to lead nine Bears who picked up conference honors Wednesday.

Billings shared the defensive award with Oklahoma State’s imposing pass rusher Emmanuel Ogbah. Both Billings and Drango were unanimous All-Big 12 first-team selections.

Baylor senior left tackle Spencer Drango, who is projected to be selected in the first three rounds of the 2016 NFL draft, was named the conference’s Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Junior wide receiver Corey Coleman, who announced after last week’s regular-season finale that he will skip his senior season and enter the NFL draft, was an honorable mention for Offensive Player of the Year. He was selected to the conference’s first team, which also included Bears defensive back Xavien Howard.

Four Bears made the second team, including running back Shock Linwood, wide receiver KD Cannon and offensive linemen Jarrel Broxton and Kyle Fuller, as well as defensive lineman Shawn Oakman. For the entire list of All-Big 12 honors, click here.

MORE NEWS: Want stories delivered to you? Sign up for our College Football newsletters.