Wyoming 73, Louisiana Tech 58

Luke Martinez scored a career-high 20 points to lead Wyoming to

the championship of the Jim Thorpe Classic with a 73-58 win over

Louisiana Tech on Sunday night.

Martinez was named MVP after going 13 of 21 from beyond the arc

and averaging 17.0 points during the round-robin event.

Francisco Cruz added 18 points and Adam Waddell 11 for the

Cowboys (6-1).

Cordarius Johnson led the Bulldogs (2-3) with 16 points while

Kenyon McNeail scored 13 and Romario Souza 10.

Martinez sank three of his five 3s in the first period to help

Wyoming to a 31-23 halftime lead. A rare 3-pointer by Leonard

Washington put the Cowboys up 39-23 and the margin ranged from 10

to 23 the rest of the way.

Wyoming was 3-0 in the tournament, Portland State 2-1, Louisiana

Tech 1-2 and Maryland-Eastern Shore 0-3.