Ulis, Simmons, Kennedy earn honors on AP All-SEC team

Tennessee's Robert Hubbs III (3) tries to drive against LSU's Ben Simmons (25) and Antonio Blakeney (2) during the second half of an NCAA college basketball game in the Southeastern Conference tournament in Nashville, Tenn., Friday, March 11, 2016. (AP Photo/John Bazemore)

ATLANTA (AP) Kentucky guard Tyler Ulis is player of the year on The Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference team.

The 68th annual squad was announced Monday, one day after the sophomore scored a career-high 30 points to lead the Wildcats past Texas A&M in the championship game of the SEC tournament in Nashville.

LSU star Ben Simmons is the choice for freshman of the year, while Texas A&M's Billy Kennedy claims the coach of the year award.

Ulis and Simmons are both unanimous selections to the first team, while also includes Mississippi guard Stefan Moody, Kentucky guard Jamal Murray and Texas A&M swingman Jalen Jones.

The second team is comprised of Alabama guard Retin Obasohan, South Carolina forward Michael Carrera, Vanderbilt center Damian Jones, Tennessee guard Kevin Punter, and Arkansas forward Moses Kingsley.