Referees blew a call that helped San Diego State force overtime

San Diego State senior forward Skylar Spencer scored eight points in Saturday's win.

The Mountain West Conference announced on Saturday night that the officiating crew in the New Mexico-San Diego State game made an incorrect call which helped set up overtime.

San Diego State was the beneficiary of the blown call, tying the game with a Malik Pope 3-pointer with eight seconds remaining in regulation. The Aztecs went on to win, 78-71.

The official on the baseline ruled that New Mexico sophomore guard Xavier Adams had not established out-of-bounds position when he received the pass from Cullen Neal. Adam had by having one foot on the baseline, which is enough to continue the play. To make matters worse for Adams, he was defending Pope when he drilled a game-tying three from the right elbow to force overtime.

"While this was a very close judgment call made at full speed, it has been determined after careful review of slow-motion video replays the call was in fact incorrect," the conference stated in a press release. "The New Mexico player did get one foot down (two feet are not required) out-of-bounds before receiving the ball, thus establishing his location in accordance NCAA Basketball Playing Rules 4.23.1.a and 7.1.1. By rule, the officials were not permitted to go to the monitor during the game to review this play."

San Diego State freshman guard Jeremy Hemsley scored eight of his team-high 23 points in overtime. Elijah Brown matched Hemsley’s point total in a losing effort for the Lobos.

(h/t College Basketball Talk)

MORE NEWS: Want stories delivered to you? Sign up for our College Basketball newsletters.