SEC comments on controversial technical foul call

Kentucky freshman forward Isaac Humphries was called for a controversial technical foul on Saturday against Texas A&M.
Troy Taormina-USA TODAY Sports

Texas A&M’s 79-77 thrilling overtime win over No. 14 Kentucky was overshadowed by a questionable technical foul assessed to Isaac Humphries.

On Monday, the Southeastern Conference commented on the technical foul.

“The official determined the Kentucky player committed an unsportsmanlike act in violation of Rule 10, Section 3, a Class A Unsporting Technical Infraction, resulting in the awarding of two free throws to Texas A&M,” SEC spokesperson Craig Pinkerton said in a statement.

Pinkerton referenced Rule 10, Sect. 15, Art. 15. b. "CLASS A and CLASS B technical fouls." However, it doesn’t seem as if Humphries was displaying any of the examples listed under that rule ("Unsportsmanlike conduct; using profanity, vulgarity, taunting, baiting").

The freshman forward corralled a rebound and was fouled with less than 10 seconds remaining in overtime and Kentucky up 76-75. Humphries spiked the ball out of excitement. 

Danuel House made both free throws to put the Aggies up 77-76. Skal Labissiere, who replaced Humphries after he fouled out, split a pair of free throws to tie the score at 77-all.

House’s off-balanced shot bounced off the rims and into the hands of Tyler Davis, who won the game with a putback.

(h/t Courier-Journal)

MORE NEWS: Want stories delivered to you? Sign up for our College Basketball newsletters.