Jayhawks earn top seed in NCAA tournament

Kansas, Kentucky, Syracuse and Duke have earned the No. 1 seeds

for the NCAA tournament, with the Jayhawks selected as the top seed

overall for this year’s version of March Madness.

The 65-team bracket was announced Sunday. Play starts Tuesday

with an opening-round game, and the tournament goes into full swing


Syracuse, the Big East regular-season champ, got a No. 1 seed

despite heading into the tournament with its first two-game losing

streak of the season.

Kansas (32-2), Kentucky (32-2) and Duke (29-5) all won their

conference tournaments. The Blue Devils were deemed more worthy of

a top seed than West Virginia (27-6), which won the Big East and

had two wins over No. 22 Georgetown and one over No. 10 Villanova

this month.