Duke-Tennessee in EA Sports Maui Invitational

Duke will face Tennessee in the championship round of the EA

Sports Maui Invitational, which is undergoing its first expansion

since 1986.

Other matchups at the Lahaina Civic Center on Nov. 21 include

Michigan vs. Memphis, UCLA facing host Chaminade and Georgetown

playing Kansas. The winners meet in the semifinals on Nov. 22, with

the championship game on Nov. 23.

Duke has won a record four EA Sports Maui Invitationals in as

many appearances.

For the first time since the field expanded from four to eight

teams in 1986, there will be ”regional games” that will include

four schools – Towson, North Carolina-Greensboro, Belmont and

Middle Tennessee State – which will play games on the mainland as

part of the new 12-team format.

Regional play will start on Nov. 11 with Towson at Kansas, North

Carolina-Greensboro at Tennessee and Belmont at Duke. On Nov. 14,

Towson is at Michigan and North Carolina-Greensboro is at

Georgetown. Middle Tennessee State will be at UCLA Nov. 15, and

Belmont is at Memphis.

The mainland games continue Nov. 19 at Middle Tennessee State

with North Carolina-Greensboro facing Middle Tennessee State and

Towson against Belmont. The winners and losers will play on Nov.


Duke is 12-0 all-time in the tournament, having won in 1992,

1997, 2001 and 2007. Michigan won in 1985 and 1988, while Kansas

took the title in 1996 and UCLA in 2006.

Chaminade, the Division II school that has hosted the tournament

since its inception, has compiled a 6-73 record in the event.

Connecticut beat Kentucky 84-67 to win last year’s Maui

Invitational. The teams went on to meet in the Final Four in

Houston four months later with eventual national champion

Connecticut winning again, 56-55.