Dakota League dwindling in NAIA

One of the five remaining members of the Dakota Athletic

Conference is leaving next July.

Dakota State University in Madison, S.D., will remain in the

NAIA, but as an independent.

The DAC announced this week that it is becoming a five-school

league starting next July, after the departure or pending departure

of four schools to NCAA Division II. An NAIA league must have at

least six teams for it to be eligible for automatic postseason

berths, and the DAC planned to ask for a waiver.

The four remaining teams in the DAC all will be in North Dakota:

Dickinson State, Jamestown College, Mayville State and Valley City