America’s Cup Fact Box

A look at defending champion Alinghi and challenger BMW Oracle ahead of Monday’s best-of-three 33rd America’s Cup series:


Country: Switzerland

Yacht club: Societe Nautique de Geneve

Established: 2000

Sail numbers: SUI

Estimated budget: ?150 million

Head of syndicate: Ernesto Bertarelli

Skipper: Brad Butterworth

Helmsman: Ernesto Bertarelli

Designers: Rolf Vrolijk, Dirk Kramers and the Alinghi design team

ChallengerBMW Oracle Racing

Country: United States

Yacht Club: Golden Gate Yacht Club

Established: 2000

Sail numbers: USA 17

Estimated Budget: ?150 million

Head of syndicate: Larry Ellison

Skipper: Russell Coutts

Helmsmen: James Spithill

Designers: Mike Drummond and BMW Oracle Racing Design Team

Brief Timeline

1851 – Schooner America beat out a fleet of British yachts to win the first edition, which was sailed around the Isle of Wight.

1983 – The United States’ dominance of the Cup held out for 132 years before Australia II rallies from 3-1 down to beat Liberty 4-3 to secure the Auld Mug.

1987 – Dennis Connor’s Stars & Stripes beats Kookaburra III in Fremantle, Australia, 4-0 to return the Cup to U.S. soil.

1988 – Merchant banker Michael Fay finds Deed of Gift loophole to directly challenge Stars and Stripes, resulting in the only best-of-three series prior to 2010. Connor’s catamaran easily beats Fay’s monohull 2-0.

1995 – New Zealand’s Black Magic beat Young America 5-0 to give a Kiwi team its first title in San Diego. No American team has won it since.

2003 – Alinghi becomes first European team and first debut syndicate to win, sweeping Team New Zealand 5-0 in Auckland.

2007 – Alinghi retains trophy with a come-from-behind victory over Team New Zealand in Valencia to win a dramatic seventh race by one second and clinch the series 5-2.