Tippett named Team Canada coach for world championship

Dave Tippett will lead Team Canada at the World Championship in Minsk, Belarus, from May 9 through 25.

As has long been expected, Coyotes coach Dave Tippett was named head coach for Hockey Canada at the upcoming IIHF World Championship in Belarus in May.

This will be Tippett’s third appearance on Canada’s coaching staff at this tournament. He was an associate coach last year and in 2009 when Canada won silver. He also represented Canada at two Olympics as a player, serving as captain in 1984 and winning silver in 1992.

"It’s a great experience, especially the interaction you get with other coaches and other players throughout the league," Tippett said.

The games will be held in Minsk, the capital of Belarus, from May 9-25. Tippett said putting together a roster on such short notice was one of the greatest challenges.

"The condensed (NHL) schedule and the delay of the start of this because of the Olympics make it where players are going to have to stay sharp," Tippett said. "One thing (Canada GM) Rob Blake did is concentrate on players that really wanted to go. There’s a lot of young players that are looking for the experience, but we’ll rely on some veterans like (Kevin) Bieksa and (Alex) Burrows to really help move it in the right direction."

Florida Panthers head coach Peter DeBoer and Winnipeg Jets head coach Paul Maurice will serve as Tippett’s assistant coaches.  

Coyotes assistant GM Brad Treliving was selected to serve in his same role with Hockey Canada’s World Championship team last month. 

Tippett said he hopes to take some down time after the tournament. If all goes well and Canada makes the final, that will be played on the 25th — one day before Tippett’s 30th wedding anniversary with his wife, Wendy.

There’s a chance he could make a stop somewhere to celebrate with all of Europe at his disposal.


The NHL held its annual draft lottery on Tuesday and the Coyotes will pick 12th in June. That is the same position they held last season when they selected forward Max Domi. 

Past No. 12 selections include: C Mikhail Grigorenko (2012, Buffalo); D Duncan Siemens (2011, Colorado); D Cam Fowler (2010, Anaheim); D Calvin de Haan (2009, New York Islanders); D Tyler Myers (2008, Buffalo); D Ryan McDonagh (2007, Montreal); C Bryan Little (2006, Atlanta); D Marc Staal (2005, New York Rangers); and D A.J. Thelen (2004, Minnesota).