Goldschmidt nominated for Hank Aaron Award

Major League Baseball announced Monday that Paul Goldschmidt was named the Diamondbacks’ nominee for the 2013 Hank Aaron Award.

The Hank Aaron Award, established in 1999, recognizes the most outstanding offensive performer in each league. Fans can vote online at and the individual team sites, and for the fourth straight year, a panel of Hall of Fame players led by Hank Aaron will join fans in voting.

The 26-year-old Goldschmidt hit .302 with 36 home runs, 36 doubles and 125 RBI in 160 games with the D-backs this season. The NL All-Star became the first player in franchise history to lead or tie for the league lead in home runs and RBI. He also finished first in the NL in slugging percentage (.551), OPS (.952), extra-base hits (75) and total bases (332).

Through Oct. 10, fans can vote for one AL and one NL winner from a list comprising one finalist per team. The winners of the 2013 Hank Aaron Award will be announced during the World Series.

“It is a great honor that Major League Baseball recognizes the most outstanding offensive performer in each League with an award in my name,” Hank Aaron said in a statement. “The game is full of so many talented players today that I am thankful my fellow Hall of Famers and the fans assist in selecting the much deserving winners.”

The other finalists for the 2013 Hank Aaron Award are:

Baltimore Orioles: Chris Davis
Boston Red Sox: David Ortiz
Atlanta Braves: Freddie Freeman
Chicago White Sox: Alexei Ramirez
Chicago Cubs: Nate Schierholtz
Cleveland Indians: Jason Kipnis
Cincinnati Reds: Jay Bruce
Detroit Tigers: Miguel Cabrera
Colorado Rockies: Michael Cuddyer
Houston Astros: Jason Castro
Los Angeles Dodgers: Hanley Ramirez
Kansas City Royals: Eric Hosmer
Miami Marlins: Giancarlo Stanton
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim: Mike Trout
Milwaukee Brewers: Carlos Gomez
Minnesota Twins: Joe Mauer
New York Mets: David Wright
New York Yankees: Robinson Cano
Philadelphia Phillies: Domonic Brown
Oakland Athletics: Josh Donaldson
Pittsburgh Pirates: Andrew McCutchen
Seattle Mariners: Kendrys Morales
St. Louis Cardinals: Matt Carpenter
Tampa Bay Rays: Evan Longoria
San Diego Padres: Will Venable
Texas Rangers: Adrian Beltre
San Francisco Giants: Hunter Pence
Toronto Blue Jays: Edwin Encarnacion
Washington Nationals: Jayson Werth

Past winners of the Hank Aaron Award are Miguel Cabrera and Buster Posey (2012), Jose Bautista and Matt Kemp (2011), Bautista and Joey Votto (2010), Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols (2009), Aramis Ramirez and Kevin Youkilis (2008), Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007), Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006), David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005), Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds (2004), Rodriguez and Pujols (2003), Rodriguez and Bonds (2001-02), Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000) and Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999).