D-backs minor league report: Osprey claim Pioneer League title

Coming alive offensively in the middle innings, Diamondbacks affiliate Missoula on Wednesday night won its fourth Pioneer League championship with an 8-1 victory over Idaho Falls.

The title was the Osprey’s first since 2012.

Missoula scored three runs in the fourth, one in the fifth and four in the sixth to build a sizeable lead, and continuing its dominance in the postseason the Osprey bullpen protected the lead down the stretch.

Austin Mason tossed 1.1 scoreless innings before Cody Clark dealt a scoreless seventh. Gabriel Moya retired the side in order, including posting a pair of strikeouts, in the eighth, ultimately handing the ball over to Keegan Long in the ninth.

Long’s outing was delayed slightly as a power outage hit Missoula. After the lights came back on, Long took to the mound and retired the side to secure the championship.

In the California League playoffs, Visalia was eliminated with a 6-5 loss in 11 innings of Game 5 of its semifinals series against San Jose.