Cardinals’ Peterson named to AP All-NFL team

Arizona's Patrick Peterson joins Seattle's Richard Sherman as the first-team cornerbacks on the AP All-NFL team.

Stacy Revere

NEW YORK — Arizona Cardinals cornerback Patrick Peterson was voted to the 2013 Associated Press NFL All-Pro team. Teammate Karlos Dansby, who was snubbed in Pro Bowl voting, was a second-team seletion at inside linebacker in balloting from 50 media members who cover the NFL.

Denver quarterback Peyton Manning was the only unanimous choice. It’s his seventh time as a first-teamer, tying Hall of Famer Otto Graham for the most by a quarterback.

The Denver star set NFL records this season with 55 touchdown passes and 5,477 yards through the air. Manning also was an All-Pro in 2003, `04, `05, `08, `09 and last season.

New Orleans tight end Jimmy Graham and Indianapolis outside linebacker Robert Mathis each drew 49 votes. Philadelphia running back LeSean McCoy and Seattle cornerback Richard Sherman had 48.

Minnesota kick returner Cordarrelle Patterson is the only rookie on the squad.

Eighteen NFC players and nine from the AFC have made the team.


Quarterback — Peyton Manning, Denver.

Running Backs — LeSean McCoy, Philadelphia; Jamaal Charles, Kansas City.

Fullback — Mike Tolbert, Carolina.

Tight End — Jimmy Graham, New Orleans.

Wide Receivers — Calvin Johnson, Detroit; Josh Gordon, Cleveland.

Tackles — Joe Thomas, Cleveland; Jason Peters, Philadelphia.

Guards — Louis Vasquez, Denver; Evan Mathis, Philadelphia.

Center — Ryan Kalil, Carolina.

Placekicker — Justin Tucker, Baltimore.

Kick Returner — Cordarrelle Patterson, Minnesota.


Ends — J.J. Watt, Houston; Robert Quinn, St. Louis.

Tackles — Gerald McCoy, Tampa Bay; Ndamukong Suh, Detroit.

Outside Linebackers — Robert Mathis, Indianapolis; Lavonte David, Tampa Bay.

Inside Linebacker — Luke Kuechly, Carolina; NaVorro Bowman, San Francisco.

Cornerbacks — Richard Sherman, Seattle; Patrick Peterson, Arizona.

Safeties — Earl Thomas, Seattle; Eric Berry, Kansas City.

Punter — Johnny Hekker, St. Louis.


Quarterback — None.

Running Backs — Adrian Peterson, Minnesota; Eddie Lacy, Green Bay.

Fullback — Marcel Reece, Oakland.

Tight End — Vernon Davis, San Francisco.

Wide Receivers — A.J. Green, Cincinnati; Demaryius Thomas, Denver, and Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh.

Tackles — Tyron Smith, Dallas; Joe Staley, San Francisco.

Guards — Jahri Evans, New Orleans; Logan Mankins, New England, and Josh Sitton, Green Bay.

Center –– Alex Mack, Cleveland.

Placekicker — Matt Prater, Denver.

Kick Returner — Dexter McCluster, Kansas City.


Ends — Mario Williams, Buffalo; Greg Hardy, Carolina.

Tackles — Dontari Poe, Kansas City; Muhammad Wilkerson, New York Jets, Jurrell Casey, Tennessee, and Justin Smith, San Francisco.

Outside Linebackers — Tamba Hali, Kansas City; Ahmad Brooks, San Francisco.

Inside Linebackers — Vontaze Burfict, Cincinnati; Karlos Dansby, Arizona.

Cornerbacks — Aqib Talib, New England; Joe Haden, Cleveland, and Alterraun Verner, Tennessee.

Safeties — Eric Weddle, San Diego; Kam Chancellor, Seattle, Jairus Byrd, Buffalo, T.J. Ward, Cleveland, Devin McCourty, New England, and Antrel Rolle, New York Giants.

Punter — Brandon Fields, Miami.