D-backs announce 36-game spring training schedule

The Diamondbacks will play 22 games at Salt River Fields, the Scottsdale stadium they share with the Colorado Rockies.

Jake Roth-USA TODAY Sports

PHOENIX — The Arizona Diamondbacks will officially open  their 36-game 2016 spring training schedule on March 2 against the Colorado Rockies at Salt River Fields in Scottsdale.

The official opener will follow an exhibition game on March 1 against the University of Arizona at Salt River Fields.

The Diamondbacks will play 22 games at Salt River Fields — 19 home games and three "away" games vs. the Rockies, with whom they share the facility for a sixth season.

ASU opened its 2015 spring training schedule with an exhibition game against Arizona State, and they’ll follow this year’s game vs. Arizona with a 2017 exhibition game against Grand Canyon.

"We are excited to kick off our 2016 Spring Training schedule against my alma mater," D-backs manager Chip Hale said. "It will be a great way to start our quest for a championship."

The official spring training schedule features three evening games at Salt River Fields and a spring-training-ending two-game set vs. the World Series champion Kansas City Royals at Chase Field on April 1-2. The regular season opens April 4. with the D-backs hosting Colorado.

Season tickets for all games at Salt River Fields are priced at $11 to $37 and go on sale to season-ticket holders on Dec. 16 and to the general public on Dec. 18. Individual game tickets go on sale on Jan. 9. Tickets can be purchased in person at the D-backs ticket office at Chase Field, online at dbacks.com/spring or by calling 888-490-0383 or 480-362-9467.

ARIZONA DIAMONDBACKS 2016 SPRING Training Schedule

Tuesday, March 1: University of Arizona, Salt River Fields, 3:10 p.m.
Wednesday, March 2: Colorado Rockies, Salt River Fields, 1:10 p.m.
Thursday, March 3: Colorado Rockies, Salt River Fields, 1:10 p.m.
Friday, March 4: Oakland A’s, Salt River Fields, 1:10 p.m.
Saturday, March 5: at Los Angeles Dodgers, Glendale, 1:05 p.m.
Sunday, March 6: Chicago Cubs, Salt River Fields, 1:10 p.m.
Monday, March 7: at Seattle Mariners, Peoria, 1:10 p.m.
Tuesday, March 8: Los Angeles Angels (ss), Salt River Fields, 12:10 p.m.
Tuesday, March 8: at San Diego Padres (ss), Peoria
Wednesday, March 9: San Diego Padres, Salt River Fields, 1:10 p.m.
Thursday, March 10: at Los Angeles Angels, Tempe
Friday, March 11: at Kansas City Royals, Surprise
Saturday, March 12: Kansas City Royals (ss), Salt River Fields, 1:10 p.m.
Saturday, March 12: at San Francisco Giants (ss), Scottsdale Stadium, 1:05 p.m.
Sunday, March 13: at Chicago White Sox, Glendale, 1:05 p.m.
Monday, March 14: Seattle Mariners, Salt River Fields, 1:10 p.m.
Tuesday, March 15: OFF
Wednesday, March 16: Cincinnati Reds, Salt River Fields, 6:40 p.m.
Thursday, March 17: at Chicago Cubs, Sloan Park
Friday, March 18: Los Angeles Dodgers, Salt River Fields, 1:10 p.m.
Saturday, March 19: Texas Rangers (ss), Salt River Fields, 1:10 p.m.
Saturday, March 19: at Seattle Mariners (ss), Peoria, 7:10 p.m.
Sunday, March 20: at Cincinnati Reds, Goodyear
Monday, March 21: Milwaukee Brewers, Salt River Fields, 6:40 p.m.
Tuesday, March 22: San Francisco Giants, Salt River Fields, 7:10 p.m.
Wednesday, March 23: San Francisco Giants, Salt River Fields, 1:10 p.m.
Thursday, March 24: at San Diego Padres, Peoria
Friday, March 25: Cleveland Indians, Salt River Fields, 1:10 p.m.
Saturday, March 26: at Milwaukee Brewers, Maryvale
Sunday, March 27: Colorado Rockies (ss), Salt River Fields, 1:10 p.m.
Sunday, March 27: at Texas Rangers, Surprise
Monday, March 28: at San Francisco Giants, Scottsdale Stadium, 1:05 p.m.
Tuesday, March 29: Colorado Rockies, Salt River Fields, 1:10 p.m.
Wednesday, March 30: at Oakland A’s, HoHoKam Park, 12:05 p.m.
Thursday, March 31: Colorado Rockies, Salt River Fields, 12:10 p.m.
Friday, April 1: Kansas City Royals, Chase Field, 6:40 p.m.
Saturday, April 2: Kansas City Royals, Chase Field, 12:10 p.m.