Aeneas Williams among revealed Pro Football Hall of Fame finalists

For a fifth straight year, former Cardinals cornerback Aeneas Williams is a finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

In voting announced Thursdya night, Williams, who played in Arizona from 1991 to 2000 and then with the St. Louis Rams for four seasons, is one of 15 modern-era finalists this year. He was a seven-time Pro Bowl selection — six times as a corner and once as a safety.

Williams recorded an interception the first 13 of a 14-season career and had five or more picks in six seasons, He led the Cardinals in interceptions seven times and was the Rams’ leading interceptor in 2003. Willaims recorded 55 career interceptions.

A 46-member selection committee will vote Feb. 1 in New York, with a minimum 80 percent required for induction.

The modern-era finalists were chosen by the selection committee from a list of 126 nominees who were reduced to 25 semifinalists. Each finalist received a minimum vote of 80 percent. To be eligible, modern-era players and coaches must have last played or coached more than five seasons ago.

First-year nominees Derrick Brooks, Tony Dungy, Marvin Harrison and Walter Jones are among the 15 modern-era finalists. Michael Strahan also was selected a modern-era finalist along with Charles Haley, Kevin Greene, Andre Reed, Jerome Bettis, Tim Brown, John Lynch, Will Shields, Morten Andersen, Edward DeBartolo Jr. and Williams. Senior nominees Ray Guy and Claude Humphrey were announced in August.