British Players at Wimbledon

Share This Story

Since 1977

1977 - Mark Cox (4R); Virginia Wade (CH)

1978 - Cox, Robin Drysdale, John Feaver, Buster Mottram (2R); Wade (SF)

1979 - Cox (4R); Wade (QF)

1980 - Cox, Andrew Jarrett, Mottram (2R); Wade (4R)

1981 - Feaver, John Lloyd, Mottram (2R); Jo Durie, Anne Hobbs (4R)

1982 - Mottram (4R); Anne Hobbs, Wade (2R)

1983 - Stuart Bale, Jarrett (2R); Wade (QF)

1984 - Lloyd (3R); Durie (QF)

1985 - Lloyd (3R); Durie (4R)

1986 - Stephen Botfield, Andrew Castle, Colin Dowdeswell, Nick Fulwood (2R); Durie, Anne Hobbs (3R)

1987 - Jeremy Bates (3R); Durie (3R)

1988 - Bates, Botfield (2R); Julie Salmon (3R)

1989 - Fulwood (3R); Anne Hobbs (3R)

1990 - Bates (2R); Sarah Loosemore (2R)

1991 - Nick Brown (3R); Durie, Amanda Grunfeld (2R)

1992 - Bates (4R); Grunfeld, Shirli-Ann Siddall (2R)

1993 - Andrew Foster (4R); Monique Javer, Amanda Wainwright, Clare Wood (2R)

1994 - Bates (4R); Siddall (2R)

1995 - Greg Rusedski (4R); Durie (2R)

1996 - Tim Henman (QF); Claire Taylor, Rachel Viollet (2R)

1997 - Henman, Rusedski (QF); Karen Cross (3R)

1998 - Henman (SF); Samantha Smith (4R)

1999 - Henman (SF); Cross, Louise Latimer (2R)

2000 - Henman (4R); Lucie Ahl, Latimer (2R)

2001 - Henman (SF); Cross (2R)

2002 - Henman (SF); Elena Baltacha (3R)

2003 - Henman (QF); Lucie Ahl, Elena Baltacha, Anne Keothavong, Jane O'Donoghue (1R)

2004 - Henman (QF); Elena Baltacha, Anne Keothavong, Jane O'Donoghue, Emily Webley-Smith (2R)

2005 - Andy Murray (3R); Jane O'Donoghue (2R)

2006 - Murray (4R); Sarah Borwell, Melanie South (2R)

2007 - Henman (2R); Katie O'Brien (2R)

2008 - Murray (QF); Baltacha, Keothavong (2R)

2009 - Murray (SF); Baltacha (2R)

2010 - Murray (SF); Six women entered, none reached the second round.

2011 - Murray (SF); Baltacha, Keothavong, Laura Robson (2R)

Fred Perry (1936) and Virginia Wade (1977) are the last British players to win Wimbledon singles titles.

Related Stories

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by

More Than Sports on MSN

Fox Sports Store