Photo Credit: Simon Cudby

Photo Credit: Simon Cudby

Reigning 450 Class Champion added a second overall victory to the season last round in Maryland, but the flip-flopped moto score of (1-2) with produced a blank draw as far as series points are concerned. Heading into this Saturday’s Chaplin Kawasaki Moto-X 338 National on June 29, Villopoto remains sixteen points ahead of Dungey, as the two former champions go head-to-head at the final Pro National in , Mass.

Red Bull KTM’s Dungey remains the only rider to finish atop the podium in every moto of the 2013 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing. In fact, Dungey has only placed third one time this season-at Round 3-where he’s otherwise finished first or second place in every moto. As a two-time winner of the 450 Class at Moto-X 338, Dungey looks to secure his third career win at the historic sand track.

Through five rounds, Villopoto has proven to be the most consistent out front this season, as he’s won eight of the ten motos. However, the deep sands of Southwick present all new challenges to the racers with unfamiliar terrain compared to the other 11 rounds on the tour. Villopoto has never secured a 450 Class win at Moto-X 338 and his last victory at this event came in 2008 when he bested Dungey in the 250 Class with a (1-1) sweep. This Saturday, Villopoto looks to conquer a personal feat by winning the Chaplin Kawasaki Moto-X 338 National for the first time ever in the 450 Class.

Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Trey Canard landed his first podium finish of the season with a third overall at the last round, giving him great momentum heading into Round 6. Canard currently sits fourth overall in the championship standings behind his Honda Muscle Milk teammate Justin Barcia. Smartop/MotoConcepts Racing’s Mike Alessi rounds out the top five in the championship standings after matching a season-best finish of third place in Moto 1 of the last round.

Last round, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett became the fourth different rider to finish atop the podium in the ultra-competitive 250 Class this season. Now joining Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen, Marvin Musquin and GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac as winners of the 250 Class, Baggett has inserted himself into a four-way battle for the championship title. As the 250 Class winner at Moto-X 338 in 2012, Baggett is also looking to become the first back-to-back winner in Southwick since Ricky Carmichael in 1998 and 1999.

Tomac was able to gain valuable points on the points leader, Roczen, last round, as the GEICO Honda rider went (5-1) to top Roczen’s scores of (3-6) and further close the gap to less than 10 points in the championship standings. Through five rounds, Musquin remains the only repeat winner in the 250 Class this season, currently sitting in third overall in the championship standings.

The Moto-X 338 track is the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship’s perennial sand track-notoriously rough and physically exhausting-and has been since the first Southwick National event was held in 1976.

The Chaplin Kawasaki Moto-X 338 National will commence Saturday, June 29, in Southwick, Mass., beginning at 1 p.m. Eastern. Live coverage of the opening motos on FUEL TV and will begin at 1 p.m. Eastern. Second motos will air Live on NBC Sports and beginning at 3:30 p.m.

For tickets and additional information, please visit and LIKE the Pro Motocross Facebook page and follow @ProMotocross on Twitter and Instagram for exclusive content and additional information on the latest Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship news.


Previous Round Results and Current Point Standings

Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship
Red Bull Budds Creek National
Budds Creek MX Park – Mechanicsville, Md.
June 22, 2013
Round 5 of 12

450 Class (Moto Finish)

1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM (2-1)
2. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki (1-2)
3. Trey Canard, Oklahoma City, Okla., Honda, (6-4)
4. Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Honda (9-3)
5. Justin Barcia, Monroe, N.Y., Honda (4-8)
6. Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Yamaha (7-7)
7. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki (10-5)
8. Jake Weimer, Twin Falls, Idaho, Kawasaki (8-10)
9. Phil Nicoletti, Cohocton, N.Y., Yamaha (15-6)
10. Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., KTM (12-9)

450 Class Championship Standings

1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 240
2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 224
3. Justin Barcia, Monroe, N.Y., Honda, 179
4. Trey Canard, Oklahoma City, Okla., Honda, 153
5. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki,136
6. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki, 122
7. Tyla Rattray, Durban, South Africa, Kawasaki, 95
8. Ryan Sipes, Elizabethtown, Ky., Suzuki, 95
9. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 94
10. Jake Weimer, Twin Falls, Idaho, Kawasaki, 93

250 Class (Moto Finish)

1. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki (1-2)
2. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda (5-1)
3. Marvin Musquin, La Reole, France, KTM (2-7)
4. Ken Roczen, Apolda, Germany, KTM (3-6)
5. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda (6-5)
6. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki (4-11)
7. Darryn Durham, Butler, Pa., Kawasaki (13-3)
8. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Yamaha (7-9)
9. Zach Osborne, Abingdon, Va., Honda (17-4)
10. Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Kawasaki (10-10)

250 Class Championship Standings

1. Ken Roczen, Apolda, Germany, KTM, 220
2. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 211
3. Marvin Musquin, La Reole, France, KTM, 199
4. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., awasaki, 188
5. Zach Osborne, Abingdon, Va., Honda, 149
6. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki, 128
7. Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 109
8. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Yamaha, 107
9. Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda, 104
10. Cooper Webb, Morehead City, N.C., Yamaha, 99

MX Sports Pro Racing

MX Sports Pro Racing manages and produces the world’s most prestigious professional motocross series – the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing. The industry leader in off road power sport event production and management, its mission is to showcase the sport of professional motocross competition at events throughout the United States. Through its various racing properties, partnerships and affiliates, MX Sports Pro Racing organizes events for thousands of action sports athletes each year and attracts millions of motorsports spectators. Visit

Alli Sports

Alli Sports is a media, event and branded content company that specializes in action, adventure, and adrenaline based sports. Alli Properties include the Dew Tour, Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, the Red Bull Signature Series, GoPro World of Adventure Sports and Octane Academy; Alli Media, which creates original content, produces and presents content with partners and distributes content through a variety of channels; and Alli enterprises consisting of E-commerce, event merchandise and branded licensed product. Alli Sports is a division of the NBC Sports Group. More information can be found at

AMA Pro Racing 

AMA Pro Racing is the premier professional motorcycle racing organization in North America, operating a full schedule of events and championships for a variety of motorcycle disciplines. Learn more about AMA Pro Racing at

Lucas Oil Products 

Lucas Oil is a worldwide leader in the production of oils, lubricants and additives. Based in Corona, Calif., Lucas Oil Products is one of the fastest-growing additive lines in the consumer automotive industry, featuring a premium line of oils, lubricants and problem-solving performance additives. Through innovative product research and development, along with aggressive marketing programs, Lucas Oil Products has established itself as the top-selling additive line in the American truck-stop industry. Lucas Oil is involved in an array of motorsports sponsorships, including the “Official Motor Oil of the Pro Motocross Championship.” Visit

Tags: , , , , , ,