Photo Credit: Simon Cudby

Photo Credit: Simon Cudby

At the first annual Built Ford Tough Tennessee National, Round 3 of the Pro Championship, sanctioned by , defending 450 Class champion secured his first overall win of the season, ending ’s previous five-moto win streak. Now only ten points separate them as the series heads to Mt. Morris, Pa. this Saturday, June 8, for the GEICO High Point National. In the highly-competitive 250 Class, Round 4 could potentially see a fourth different overall winner in as many rounds.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Villopoto, the 2011 450 Class Champion, made his return to Lucas Oil Pro Motocross last month after missing the 2012 season due to a knee injury. Villopoto’s return has been nearly flawless, sweeping five of the first six motos. Although Villopoto has arguably been the fastest rider on the track this season, Dungey, , , and the rest of the field have their sights set on the points leader.

Red Bull KTM’s Dungey secured his first overall win last round in Tennessee, finishing the day out strong with a Moto 2 win. Coupled with the 2012 High Point National victory, and Dungey holds much momentum heading into this Saturday’s race. However, the defending champion has had his hands full with 450 Class rookie Justin Barcia so far this season. Now a full-time contender in the premier class, the Team Honda Muscle Milk rider has proven capable of running the pace of the fastest motocross racers in the country, and sits third overall in the championship standings.

Close behind Barcia in the points is Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart in fourth position. The Yoshimura Suzuki rider has maintained a consistent string of finishes, but the 2008 champion has yet to win a moto this season. Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Trey Canard experienced bad luck last round where he went 29-3 for ninth place overall. Canard holds fifth overall heading into Round 4 and the Oklahoma native looks to secure a podium position in Pennsylvania.

The highly competitive 250 Class has seen three different overall winners this season but it’s Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen who tops the point standings heading into Round 4. Roczen holds four of the six moto wins, while GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac has claimed the other two, and each rider possesses an overall win. While Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin hasn’t claimed a moto win this season, the French rider was able to secure the overall win last round with a consistent 2-2 moto scores.

Defending 250 Class Champion Blake Baggett finished with a pair of thirds last round, putting him within striking distance of the third place points position of Musquin. Baggett continues to recover from a pre-season wrist injury that has kept him just outside of the lead contention thus far. GEICO Honda’s Zach Osborne rounds out the top five in the overall standings after consistent top five finishes through three rounds.

The GEICO High Point National will commence Saturday, June 8, in Mt. Morris, Pa. beginning at 1 p.m. Eastern. Live coverage of the opening motos on FUEL TV and will begin at 1 p.m. Eastern. In addition to live coverage on, the second motos can be seen the same day on NBC Sports Network at 5 p.m.

For tickets and additional information, please visit and LIKE the Pro Motocross Facebook page and follow @ProMotocross on Twitter and Instagram for exclusive content and additional information on the latest Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship news.


Previous Round Results and Current Point Standings

Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship
Built Ford Tough Tennessee National
Muddy Creek Raceway – Blountville, Tenn.
June 1, 2013
Round 3 of 12

450 Class (Moto Finish)

1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM (3-1)
2. Justin Barcia, Monroe, N.Y., Honda (2-2)
3. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki (1-4)
4. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki (4-6)
5. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki (6-5)
6. Clement Desalle, Belgium, Suzuki (5-9)
7. Kevin Strijbos, Belgium, Suzuki (14-7)
8. Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., KTM (12-10)
9. Trey Canard, Oklahoma City, Okla., Honda, (29-3)
10. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki (13-11)

450 Class Championship Standings

1. Ryan Villopoto, Seattle, Wash., Kawasaki, 143
2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 133
3. Justin Barcia, Monroe, N.Y., Honda, 114
4. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki, 99
5. Trey Canard, Oklahoma City, Okla., Honda, 90
6. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki, 85
7. Tyla Rattray, Wildomar, Calif., Kawasaki, 59
8. Clement Desalle, Belgium, Suzuki, 58
9. Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., KTM, 54
10. Ryan Sipes, Elizabethtown, Ky., Suzuki, 49

250 Class (Moto Finish)

1. Marvin Musquin, La Reole, France, KTM (2-2)
2. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda (4-1)
3. Ken Roczen, Apolda, Germany, KTM (1-4)
4. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki (3-3)
5. Zach Osborne, Abingdon, Va., Honda (6-5)
6. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki (77)
7. Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda (12-6)
8. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Yamaha (8-11)
9. Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Suzuki (11-9)
10. Cooper Webb, Morehead City, N.C., Yamaha (5-15)

250 Class Championship Standings

1. Ken Roczen, Apolda, Germany, KTM, 138
2. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 132
3. Marvin Musquin, La Reole, France, KTM, 116
4. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki, 110
5. Zach Osborne, Abingdon, Va., Honda, 96
6. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki, 77
7. Cooper Webb, Morehead City, N.C., Yamaha, 65
8. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Yamaha, 62
9. Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda, 61
10. Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 61

MX Sports Pro Racing

MX Sports Pro Racing manages and produces the world’s most prestigious professional motocross series – the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing. The industry leader in off road power sport event production and management, its mission is to showcase the sport of professional motocross competition at events throughout the United States. Through its various racing properties, partnerships and affiliates, MX Sports Pro Racing organizes events for thousands of action sports athletes each year and attracts millions of motorsports spectators. Visit

Alli Sports

Alli Sports is a media, event and branded content company that specializes in action, adventure, and adrenaline based sports. Alli Properties include the Dew Tour, Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, the Red Bull Signature Series, GoPro World of Adventure Sports and Octane Academy; Alli Media, which creates original content, produces and presents content with partners and distributes content through a variety of channels; and Alli enterprises consisting of E-commerce, event merchandise and branded licensed product. Alli Sports is a division of the NBC Sports Group. More information can be found at

AMA Pro Racing 

AMA Pro Racing is the premier professional motorcycle racing organization in North America, operating a full schedule of events and championships for a variety of motorcycle disciplines. Learn more about AMA Pro Racing at

Lucas Oil Products 

Lucas Oil is a worldwide leader in the production of oils, lubricants and additives. Based in Corona, Calif., Lucas Oil Products is one of the fastest-growing additive lines in the consumer automotive industry, featuring a premium line of oils, lubricants and problem-solving performance additives. Through innovative product research and development, along with aggressive marketing programs, Lucas Oil Products has established itself as the top-selling additive line in the American truck-stop industry. Lucas Oil is involved in an array of motorsports sponsorships, including the “Official Motor Oil of the Pro Motocross Championship.” Visit

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,