Scott Dixon
Aug 30

IndyCar Institutes New Pit Lane Rules After Dixon, Power Mixup

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Nothing is going to change the damaging penalty that received for inadvertently making contact with ’s Team Penske pit crew last Sunday.

The mishap did, however, prompt to install new rules involving drivers and the safety of pit crew members.

Dixon was on his way to victory at Sonoma when he received a drive-through penalty with 15 laps to go for clipping a tire in the left hand of a member of Power’s crew. The incident occurred when Dixon’s Honda left his pit directly behind Power’s Chevrolet.

Dixon was livid after finishing 15th, claiming the pit crew member intentionally got in his way. His stance mellowed Friday — to a degree.

“I’m obviously not as angered. I’d probably take back some of the words I used,” Dixon said. “But still, I think the guy was incompetent, not paying attention, and we don’t need that on pit lane. He’s going to cause somebody else harm. I still feel he should be removed from pit lane or some kind of penalty inflicted on him.”

The new rules instituted Friday addressed that concern, and clearly defined where pit crews should stand during the race.

Tags: , , , ,
Aug 27

Franchitti, Dixon To Drive Second Ganassi DP In Monterey

Franchitti, Dixon To Drive Second Ganassi DP In Monterey

Photo: John Dagys

In an effort to bolster its Daytona Prototype title attack, will field a second Riley-BMW in next month’s Continental Tire Sports Car Festival at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca (Live!, FOX Sports 1).

The multi-time and defending DP champions confirmed Monday that two-time Series champion and three-time Indianapolis 500 winner will pilot the No. 02 entry, which will carry sponsorship from Cessna.

Tags: , , , ,
Aug 25

Power Wins In Sonoma After Late Dixon penalty

Will Power. (Photo: Getty Images)

. (Photo: Getty Images)

Will Power won at for the third time in four years Sunday, earning his first victory of the season when he took advantage of a late penalty to for injuring three members of Power’s pit crew.

Dixon led until he received a drive-through penalty with 15 laps to go for clipping a tire in the left hand of Power’s tire holder when Dixon left his pit directly behind Power’s Team Penske Chevrolet.

The tire holder went flying into another crew member, and a third member was injured by an air gun. Dixon thought Power’s crew got in his way on purpose, leaving him angry and confused by IndyCar’s latest call against him.

Tags: , , ,
Aug 24

Franchitti Flies To IndyCar Pole At Sonoma

Dario Franchitti will start first at Sonoma Raceway. (Photo: Getty Images)

will start first at . (Photo: Getty Images)

Although Dario Franchitti hasn’t won an race since last year’s Indianapolis 500, he’s in prime position to snap that unpleasant streak when he starts on the pole Sunday in an excellent Honda at Sonoma Raceway.

But if he can help by stepping off the gas a bit, Franchitti would be happy to follow team orders.

Franchitti won’t put his personal success ahead of Target ’s fortunes. That means Dixon will get every chance to gain ground on IndyCar points leader (453 points), who leads second-place Dixon (422) with five races to go.

Tags: , , , ,