The mishap did, however, prompt IndyCar to install new rules involving drivers and the safety of pit crew members.
Dixon was on his way to victory at Sonoma when he received a drive-through penalty with 15 laps to go for clipping a tire in the left hand of a member of Power’s crew. The incident occurred when Dixon’s Honda left his pit directly behind Power’s Chevrolet.
Dixon was livid after finishing 15th, claiming the pit crew member intentionally got in his way. His stance mellowed Friday — to a degree.
“I’m obviously not as angered. I’d probably take back some of the words I used,” Dixon said. “But still, I think the guy was incompetent, not paying attention, and we don’t need that on pit lane. He’s going to cause somebody else harm. I still feel he should be removed from pit lane or some kind of penalty inflicted on him.”
The new rules instituted Friday addressed that concern, and clearly defined where pit crews should stand during the race.Grand Prix of Baltimore, IndyCar, Scott Dixon, Sonoma Raceway, Will Power