Mar 7

IndyCar: New Indy 500 Qualifying Format Revealed

Indy 500 qualifying begins May 17. (Photo: Getty Images)

qualifying begins May 17. (Photo: Getty Images)

The new qualifying format for the Indianapolis 500 will include three rounds over two days, with the pole-winner emerging from a “Fast Nine Shootout” on what used to be Bump Day.

officials also said Friday there will be points incentives that have yet to be announced.

Qualifying for the Indy 500 this year will begin on May 17 when the fastest 33 cars are locked into the field. All entries will be guaranteed at least one four-lap attempt to qualify, and the fastest nine drivers will move into the shootout.

Tags: , ,
Feb 28

IndyCar: Panther Racing Sues Series, Rahal Over Sponsorship

National Guard sponsored Panther Racing in 2013. (Photo: Getty Images)

National Guard sponsored in 2013. (Photo: Getty Images)

Panther Racing has sued , and others, saying it lost a $17.2 million sponsorship with the Army National Guard because of bid-rigging and other improprieties.

The lawsuit filed Feb. 19 in Marion County Court in Indianapolis follows a ruling earlier this year by the U.S. Government Accountability Office. The GAO denied Panther’s appeal of moving the Army National Guard sponsorship to ’s car for the upcoming IndyCar season.

Tags: , , ,
Feb 24

5 Things To Know After The IndyCar Series Media Day

Scott Dixon, Helio Castroneves, Graham Rahal, Juan Pablo Montoya, James Hinchcliffe and Simon Pagenaud. (Photos: Getty Images)

, Helio Castroneves, , , James Hinchcliffe and Simon Pagenaud. (Photos: LAT Photographic)

Five things to know about what went on at Series media day in advance of the season-opening March 30 race at St. Petersburg, Fla.


The Champ Is Here:¬†Scott Dixon wants to drive with his regular No. 9 this year rather than switch to the traditional champions’ No. 1. Either way, Dixon enters as the defending series champion as he chases a fourth championship in 2014.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
Feb 23

SBK: Laverty Breaks Suzuki Drought In Aussie Superbike

Eugene Laverty (58) leads Marco Melandri (33) during the Superbike opener. (Photo: Getty Images)

(58) leads (33) during the Superbike opener. (Photo: Getty Images)

Eugene Laverty of Ireland gave Suzuki its first World Superbike victory since 2010, winning the first race of the championships’ opening round on Sunday.

Laverty overcame a slow start from the second row of the grid to take the lead on the 17th of 22 laps, then pulled away to win by almost three seconds over Marco Melandri of Italy, riding an Aprilia.

Tags: , , , , ,
Feb 22

SBK: Guintoli Fastest Qualifer For Superbike Opener At Phillip Island

Sylvain Guintoli will start from pole in Sunday's Superbike season opener. (Photo: Getty Images)

will start from pole in Sunday’s World Superbike season opener. (Photo: Getty Images)

Sylvain Guintoli of France produced the fastest-ever qualifying time at the circuit to claim pole position for Sunday’s opening race of the .

Guintoli steered his Aprilia around the 4.445-kilometer circuit in 1 minute, 30.038 seconds, beating the previous best lap of 1 minute, 30.234 seconds, set by Carlos Checa last year.

Tags: , , , , ,