'Bama dominates preseason team, individual voting with SEC media

The SEC announced its individual and team choices for preseason media awards on Thursday, with representatives from Alabama, Auburn, South Carolina and Georgia receiving the lion's share of accolades.

Receiver T.J. Yeldon (left -- Alabama), quarterback Nick Marshall (middle -- Auburn) and Crimson Tide tailback T.J. Yeldon (right) were all easy media choices for the preseason All-SEC team.

John David Mercer/John Reed/Derick E. Hingle / USA TODAY Sports

HOOVER, Ala. -- The SEC announced its individual and team choices for preseason media awards on Thursday, with representatives from Alabama, Auburn, South Carolina and Georgia receiving the lion's share of accolades.

And to no one's surprise, the Crimson Tide were tabbed as the clear favorite to win the SEC West title and subsequent conference championship.

For divisional votes, Alabama (1,915 votes) easily outdistanced Auburn (1,735), LSU (1,453), Ole Miss, Mississippi State and Arkansas in the West.

And in the East, South Carolina (1,895 votes) edged Georgia (1,777), Florida (1,362), Missouri, Tennessee, Vanderbilt and Kentucky.

For what it's worth, Alabama and Georgia were the preseason media picks to caputure the West and East titles last year, respectively. But Auburn (0-8 in 2012) and Missouri (2-6 in 2012) both staged tremendous turnarounds in 2013, advancing to the SEC title game in Atlanta (won by Auburn).

The Tigers used that championship (and two miracle wins over Georgia and Alabama) as a springboard for reaching the BCS title game, eventually falling to Florida State in the final minute.

From an individuals standpoint, Alabama notched nine players on the SEC first teams (offense/defense/special teams) -- tying the Crimson Tide's previous conference high from the 2011 season. The current list of first-teamers include: running back T.J. Yeldon, receiver Amari Cooper, tight end O.J. Howard, offensive lineman Arie Kouandjio, punt/kick returner Christion Jones, defensive end A'Shawn Robinson, linebacker Trey DePriest and safety Landon Collins.

Perception-wise, the SEC doesn't have the star power of previous years, especially at quarterback, in the wake of Johnny Manziel, AJ McCarron, Zach Mettenberger moving on to the pros. But there was some uniformity with this year's media picks, with Amari Cooper (media-high 282 votes), T.J. Yeldon (281) and Todd Gurley (280) all repeating their nods as first-team selections.

During this century, Arkansas tailback Darren McFadden (2005-07) is the only unanimous selection to the SEC Media Days Team.



QB Nick Marshall, Auburn
RB T.J. Yeldon, Alabama
RB Todd Gurley, Georgia
WR Amari Cooper, Alabama
WR Sammie Coates, Auburn
TE O.J. Howard, Alabama
OL La'el Collins, LSU
OL Arie Kouandjio, Alabama
OL Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss
OL Cedric Ogbuehi, Texas A&M
C Reese Dismukes, Auburn


DL Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss
DL Dante Fowler, Jr., Florida
DL A'Shawn Robinson, Alabama
DL Gabe Wright, Auburn
LB Trey DePriest, Alabama
LB A.J. Johnson, Tennessee
LB Ramik Wilson, Georgia
DB Landon Collins, Alabama
DB Vernon Hargreaves, III, Florida
DB Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss
DB Deshazor Everett, Texas A&M


Punter -- Drew Kaser, Texas A&M
Kicker -- Marshall Morgan, Georgia
Return Specialist -- Christion Jones, Alabama
All-Purpose -- Christion Jones, Alabama



QB Dak Prescott, Mississippi State
RB Mike Davis, South Carolina
RB Alex Collins, Arkansas
WR Laquon Treadwell, Ole Mis
TE C.J. Uzomah, Auburn
OL A.J. Cann, South Carolina
OL Vadal Alexander, LSU
OL Alex Kozan, Auburn
OL Corey Robinson, South Carolina
C Ryan Kelly, Alabama


DL Trey Flowers, Arkansas
DL Chris Jones, Mississippi State
DL Alvin "Bud" Dupree, Kentucky
DL Markus Golden, Missouri
LB Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State
LB Jordan Jenkins, Georgia
LB Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss
DB Robenson Therezie, Auburn
DB Tre'Davious White, LSU
DB Damian Swann, Georgia
DB Tony Conner, Ole Miss



QB Bo Wallace, Ole Miss
RB Corey Grant, Auburn
RB Keith Marshall, Georgia
WR Jameon Lewis, Mississippi State
WR Marquez North, Tennessee
TE Hunter Henry, Arkansas
OL Austin Shepherd, Alabama
OL Chad Slade, Auburn
OL John Theus, Georgia
OL Chaz Green, Florida
C Evan Boehm, Missouri


DL Ray Drew, Georgia
DL Montravius Adams, Auburn
DL Carl Lawson, Auburn
DL Jermauria Rasco, LSU
LB Kwon Alexander, LSU
LB Cassanova McKinzy, Auburn
LB Serderius Bryant, Ole Miss
DB Jon Mincy, Auburn
DB Corey Thompson, LSU
DB Rashard Robinson, LSU
DB Brison Williams, South Carolina