Tevez returns to squad for Copa America

Manchester City forward Carlos Tevez has received his first call
up to the national team in six months after being named in
Argentina’s 26-man preliminary squad for the Copa America, the
South American championship.

Tevez was joined up front on Tuesday my Barcelona star Lionel
Messi and will play in front of a defense anchored by 37-year-old
Javier Zanetti of Inter Milan.

The squad will be reduced to 22 players by the time tournament
host Argentina opens the event on July 1 against Bolivia. Argentina
and Brazil are the favorites, and Argentina is looking to win its
first major title since taking the same event in 1993.

Tevez has been excluded from the squad since he dropped out of a
friendly match in November against Brazil at Qatar. The withdrawal
seemed to anger new coach Sergio Batista, who had just taken over
from Diego Maradona.

Batista acknowledged last week for the first time that he had
personal issues with Tevez, who was the English Premier League’s
joint top-scorer.

Maradona roundly criticized Batista for the omission of Tevez
who, despite his talent, has not teamed well with Messi on the
national side.

Joining Tevez and Messi in the forwards are Sergio Aguero of
Atletico Madrid, Gonzalo Higuain of Real Madrid, Ezequiel Lavezzi
of Napoli and Diego Milito of Inter Milan.

Argentina begins training for the Copa America on June 8.


Goalkeepers: Juan Pablo Carrizo (River Plate), Sergio Romero (AZ
Alkmaar) Mariano Andujar (Catania).

Defenders: Javier Zanetti (Inter Milan), Gabriel Milito
(Barcelona), Nicolas Burdisso (Roma), Pablo Zabaleta (Manchester
City), Ezquiel Garay (Real Madrid), Marcos Rojo (Spartak Moscow),
Nicolas Pareja (Spartak Moscow), Luciano Monzon (Boca Juniors).

Midfielders: Javier Mascherano (Barcelona), Ever Banega
(Valencia), Fernando Gago (Real Madrid), Esteban Cambiasso (Inter
Milan), Enzo Perez (Estudiantes, Argentina), Diego Valeri (Lanus,
Argentina), Lucas Biglia (Anderlecht), Javier Pastore (Palermo),
Angel Di Maria (Real Madrid).

Forwards: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Sergio Aguero (Atletico
Madrid), Carlos Tevez (Manchester City), Gonzalo Higuain, (Real
Madrid), Ezequiel Lavezzi (Napoli), Diego Milito (Inter Milan).