Why was Russia's go-ahead goal against USA disallowed?

Why was Russia’s go-ahead goal disallowed?

While you are doing your “USA! USA! USA!” chants this morning, you should acknowledge that the fighting Oshies got a break in their 3-2 win against Russia at Sochi.

With 4:40 remaining in the third period, Fedor Tyutin sailed a shot past United States goalie Jonathan Quick, giving Russia an apparent lead.

The play went to review, and the goal was overturned. After some confusion as to why (NBC announcers originally though it was due to a high-stick call) cameras seemed to capture the net off its mooring ever so slightly. See below:

Check out the lower left-hand corner of this photo.


In the NHL, this would have been a goal  thanks to Rule 78.4 Scoring a Goal (see paragraph one) because the goal was only slightly dislodged.

International rules do not allow for this kind of flexibility.

Jonathan Quick (right) of the United States points out the net to a referee after Russia scored a go-ahead goal on Saturday. Upon review, it was overturned.

Bruce Bennett / Getty Images Europe