Sanzenbacher re-signs with Bengals

The Bengals and wide receiver Dane Sanzenbacher have agreed they'd like to continue their working relationship.

Former Ohio State wide receiver Dane Sanzenbacher will be suiting up for the Bengals again.

Mitch Stringer / USA TODAY Sports

The Bengals announced Tuesday they have re-signed wide receiver Dane Sanzenbacher.

Terms of the deal were not announced but the Bengals had tendered the restricted free agent a one-year offer worth $1.43 million prior to the start of free agency, preserving their right to match or decline any offer Sanzenbacher might receive from another team. Sanzenbacher, a Toledo native and Ohio State alumnus, will be a fourth-year player in 2014. He joined the Bengals late in the 2012 season. He played in 10 games last season with one start. He had six catches for 61 yards.

The Bengals lost Andrew Hawkins as a restricted free agent to Cleveland but that should open up the opportunity for Sanzenbacher to get more playing time. Sanzenbacher, who entered the NFL as an undrafted free agent with Chicago in 2011, has 34 career receptions for 344 yards and three touchdowns.

"Dane is a player with an instinctive feel for the game," said Bengals wide receiver coach James Urban, "and he should have the chance for more playing time this year than we were able to find for him last year. He’s got assets that can help make us better."

An updated look at the Bengals free agency:



Check out the hottest NFL cheerleaders. Which ones are your favorites?

UFA: OT Dennis Roland, DB Chris Crocker, LB Michael Boley, TE Alex Smith, P Zoltan Mesko.

Re-signed: S Taylor Mays, OG Mike Pollak, LB Vinny Rey, WR Dane Sanzenbacher, WR Brandon Tate.

Signed from other teams: QB Jason Campbell (Cleveland), S Danieal Manning (Houston), OL Marshall Newhouse (Green Bay), CB R.J. Stanford (Miami).

Claimed on waivers: DE Dontay Moch (Arizona)

Released to free agency: C Kyle Cook, LB James Harrison.

Signed with another team: OT Anthony Collins (Tampa Bay), DB Brandon Ghee (San Diego), WR Andrew Hawkins (Cleveland), DE Michael Johnson (Tampa Bay)