Report: No supplemental discipline coming for Dubinsky
OCT 28, 2013 11:09a ET
NHL reviewed Dubinsky (CBJ) hit on Koivu (ANA). No supplementary discipline. Ruled a body on body hit with incidental head contact.— Bob McKenzie (@TSNBobMcKenzie) October 28, 2013
The play resulted in a game misconduct and a five-minute major interference penalty for Dubinsky, who later questioned that decision by the game officials.
"I don't agree with the call," Dubinsky said following Columbus' 4-3 loss to the Ducks. "I don't think I am a dirty player and I don't think I was trying to target his head. I understand that the league is trying to crack down on hits to the head, and I don't think it was one.
"It's a game and we're all competitive. We want to make sure that everyone is safe and plays hard. Like I said, I didn't target the head and I feel bad that Koivu didn't return to the game."