NFL

Reflections on Week 10

Share This Story

Mike Pereira

Mike Pereira was the NFL's Vice President of Officiating from 2004-09, having spent the five seasons previous to that as the league's Director of Officiating. He also served as an NFL game official when he acted as a side judge for two seasons (1997-98). Follow him on Twitter.

MORE>>
 
   
 

Turn out the lights. ... The power outage at the New Meadowlands Stadium in Week 10 brought out some interesting points. What if they couldn't get the lights back on?

WHAT'S THE LATEST?

Get all the news from the football world on our NFL Buzz Blog.

There isn't a five-inning rule in football. Games must be played to their conclusion. The game would be suspended at the exact point at which the power went off. It would be resumed at a later date, most likely the next day as long as neither team was scheduled to play that week's Thursday night game.

Commissioner Roger Goodell is the sole person who would decide where and when. By the way, the referee, veteran Bill Leavy in this case, makes the initial decision to stop play after consulting with both head coaches.

• More technology woes ... the replay system malfunctioned in Denver. With 1:20 remaining in the first quarter, Kansas City challenged the ruling of a touchdown. It was a touchdown that put the Broncos up 21-0.

Mike Carey went to the monitor at the sideline to review the play. Sorry Mikey, no picture. At this point, the referee is required to wait for two minutes while the replay technician tries to reboot the system or get to the back-up system. After two minutes, it is "see you later." The played stands as ruled on the field. It would not have been reversed.

 

ASK MIKE PEREIRA

 
If you have a question or comment for Mike, submit it below.
 

The Chiefs actually were saved a timeout. Replay was operational later in the game and was used twice in the second half. Seriously, it is embarrassing to the league and the company that manufactured the equipment. The NFL spent almost $10 million upgrading the system three years ago.

• Is the pylon in or out of bounds? I love this answer: It depends.

If the ball touches the pylon, whether loose or in player possession, the ball is dead and is out of bounds in the end zone. If the pylon is touched by a player, the player is not deemed to be out of bounds. He is deemed not to have touched it.

With 10:37 in the first quarter last Sunday, Tampa Bay quarterback Josh Freeman threw an 8-yard pass to Arrelious Benn, who scored a touchdown at the pylon. Benn’s left foot touched the pylon. He was not out of bounds. The first thing that hit the ball was his right foot that hit out of bounds short of the goal line. At that point, he had reached the ball back inside the pylon breaking the play. Great play and great call!

• Can you have a one-man chop block? The answer is yes.

The BearsMatt Forte was called for a chop block at 1:52 of the second quarter. He was the only player that made contact on the defensive player. This is called a chop block on a pass with a "lure."

LET'S KICK IT

Your team may be painful to watch, but these cheerleaders are easy on the eyes.

Here is the wording of the rule: "On a forward pass play, A1 (Forte) chops a defensive player while A2 (Brandon Manumaleuna) confronts the defensive player in a pass-blocking posture but is not physically engaged with the defensive player (a "lure").

This is not one you see very often but it is a foul.

• The 49ers had three touchdowns and an interception called back by penalties, but they looked to catch a big break in overtime. Rams safety O.J. Atogwe was called for pass interference on a third down incompletion that gave the 49ers a first down at the Rams 23-yard line.

Am I the only one that thinks that pass was uncatchable? Quarterback Troy Smith was being tackled when he threw the pass and it landed well behind the receiver.

• Congrats to Spencer Levin! Who the heck is he? Well, he is a big 49ers fan and my cousin Carlene's son. He finished tied for third this week at the Children's Miracle Network PGA tournament in Orlando. He finished the year 74th on the money list and is fully qualified for the 2011 season. I love the kid and am very proud of him.

Tagged: Bears, 49ers, Buccaneers

More Stories From Mike Pereira

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by


More Than Sports on MSN