NFL

Ref explains penalty vs. Patriots

Share This Story

   
 

EAST RUTHERFORD, N.J. (AP)

Referee Jerome Boger explained in a pool report the penalty committed by Patriots defensive tackle Chris Jones that negated a missed Jets field goal in overtime. Nick Folk soon made a 42-yarder to win the game 30-27 Sunday.

NEED SOME? GET SOME

Feed your NFL addiction! Come feast on all the news in our updating blog.

Pool reporter Mike Reiss asked Boger: ''Please explain the penalty that was called on No. 94 (Jones) on the field goal.''

Boger: ''The call was that No. 94 on the defense pushed his teammate into the formation. That is a rule change for 2013 that a teammate cannot push a teammate into the opponents' formation.''

Reiss: ''Is it any type of push? Is it a two-handed push?''

''Any push. It could be with the body, not necessarily with the hand, but with the body into his teammate, into the formation. It's any type of pushing action.''

Reiss: ''Is there anything else to go over with this penalty?''

Boger: ''No, the umpire's flag went up almost instantaneously as he observed the action. We just enforced it as he called it.

Reiss: ''And that's a 15-yard penalty.''

Boger: ''For unsportsmanlike conduct.''

Tagged: Patriots

Related Stories

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by


NFL Videos

Best Person in Sports: Keenan Lewis Posted: Jul 15, 2014
Saints CB Keenan Lewis hosts a back-to-school event, giving children medical ser...

NFL Roundtable: New York Jets Posted: Jul 14, 2014
They're a team with plenty to prove and a roster of players primed to get it don...

NFL Roundtable: Detroit Lions Posted: Jul 11, 2014
A team with so many weapons, is this the season that the Lions put together and ...