FOX Sports Exclusive
Ref: 'I didn't do anything wrong'
Lance Easley might be out of a job as an NFL replacement referee, but he insists that he made the right call on Monday night, TMZ reports.
"I didn't do anything wrong," Easley said in the report. "You have to not only have the ball but have either two feet or a body part on the ground, and that never happened."
Although the NFL rulebook cites simultaneous possession is awarded to the passing team, Packers cornerback M.D. Jennings clearly came away with the ball prior to Seahawks wide receiver Golden Tate, who stripped the ball away as he was tangled with Jennings.
"I don’t appreciate the negative stuff," said Easley, who feels he’s had to take a burden of the blame for Monday night. "We did a damn good job … for the most part."
The controversial call comes after months of an intense labor lockout between the NFL and NFLRA, who came to an eight-year agreement on Thursday morning.