Pulling hair leads to penalty against Lions' Suh
ARLINGTON, Texas (AP)
Then came a penalty flag, though hair-pulling isn't against the rules.
Lions coach Jim Schwartz said after the 35-19 loss that referees told him that the penalty was a personal foul for a horse-collar tackle. Replays, however, showed that Suh grabbed Barber's hair, not the shoulder pads.
''They said he didn't pull his hair, that they got a horse-collar,'' Schwartz said. ''I saw what you saw. That was a huge penalty. It gave them another chance.''
''You could tell that he pulled his hair,'' defensive tackle Corey Williams said. ''But they made that call and that's what it is. ... There is nothing we can do about it. Once the ref makes the call, they make the final call.''
There was another horse-collar penalty called on the Lions against Barber later in the game. Replays showed Julian Peterson did commit that foul.