First- and second-year QBs starting NFL openers

Share This Story


Most first- and second-year quarterbacks starting season openers in the NFL since the league absorbed three teams from the All-America Football Conference in 1950, according to STATS LLC.

2012 (10): Robert Griffin III, Redskins (1st season); Andrew Luck, Colts (1st); Ryan Tannehill, Dolphins (1st); Brandon Weeden, Browns (1st); Russell Wilson, Seahawks (1st); Andy Dalton, Bengals (2nd); Blaine Gabbert, Jaguars (2nd); Jake Locker, Titans (2nd); Cam Newton, Panthers (2nd) Christian Ponder, Vikings (2nd).

2000 (8): Tim Couch, Browns (2nd); Daunte Culpepper, Vikings (2nd); Jeff Garcia, 49ers (2nd); Shaun King, Buccaneers (2nd); Ryan Leaf, Chargers (2nd); Donovan McNabb, Eagles (2nd); Cade McNown, Bears (2nd); Akili Smith, Bengals (2nd)

2002 (6): David Carr, Texans (1st); Drew Brees, Chargers (2nd); Quincy Carter, Cowboys (2nd); Mike McMahon, Lions (2nd); Chris Redman, Ravens (2nd); Michael Vick, Falcons (2nd)

1978 (6): Steve DeBerg, 49ers (1st); Mike Kirkland, Colts (1st); Doug Williams, Buccaneers (1st); Jerry Golsteyn, Giants (2nd); June Jones, Falcons (2nd); David Whitehurst, Packers (2nd)

1972 (6): Tim Van Galder, Cardinals (1st); Ken Anderson, Bengals (2nd); Scott Hunter, Packers (2nd); Archie Manning, Saints (2nd); Dan Pastorini, Oilers (2nd); Jim Plunkett, Patriots (2nd)

1968 (6): Dan Darragh, Bills (1st); Greg Landry, Lions (1st); Dewey Warren, Bengals (1st); Bob Griese, Dolphins (2nd); Joe Kapp, Vikings (2nd); Kent Nix, Steelers (2nd)

1950 (6): Frankie Albert, 49ers (1st); Adrian Burk, Colts (1st); Otto Graham, Browns (1st); George Ratterman, Yanks (1st); Tobin Rote, Packers (1st); Norm Van Brocklin, Rams (2nd)

Tagged: Falcons, Bengals, Browns, Lions, Packers, Colts, Dolphins, Vikings, Saints, Giants, 49ers, Redskins, Shaun King

Related Stories

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by

More Than Sports on MSN