Controversy! Did Dez Bryant get robbed of an amazing catch?

Oh, man.

For those of you still screaming and yelling about the Dallas Cowboys’ good fortune last week against the Detroit Lions, here is your revenge. On fourth-and-2 late in the fourth quarter of Sunday’s NFC divisional round playoff game against the Green Bay Packers, quarterback Tony Romo lofted a deep pass to wide receiver Dez Bryant.

He made what appeared to be an amazing circus catch right near the goal line:

Wow. But wait! Packers head coach Mike McCarthy threw the challenge flag and while everyone in the nation rolled their eyes and made jokes about Jerry Jones paying off the referees, official Gene Steratore came through with the ruling.

Call overturned! Incomplete pass! If you look at another angle, it appears the ball might have popped loose:

Here is the wording of the NFL rule regarding this play.

"If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete."

The reaction on social media? Mixed:

By the way, the Detroit Lions — the team that was the victim of a picked-up flag for pass interference during last week’s wild-card game in Dallas — checked with their "sympathies."

Wow.