Billups, Pierce headline 3-point contest field

All-Stars Paul Pierce of Boston and Chauncey Billups of Denver
headline the field for the 3-point contest.

Also chosen for the field Friday were defending champion
Daequan Cook of Miami, Golden State rookie Stephen Curry, New
York’s Danilo Gallinari and Phoenix center Channing Frye.

Cook scored 19 points in an overtime round to beat Orlando’s
Rashard Lewis last year.

The contest will be part of the All-Star events next Saturday
in Dallas, where the first 3-point contest was staged in 1986 and
won by Hall of Famer Larry Bird.

Pierce, the MVP of the 2008 NBA finals, will try to become
the first Boston winner since Bird. He is shooting 47 percent from
3-point range this season, third in the league.