Karam wins Indy Lights championship

Sage Karam won the Indy Lights championship by finishing third
at Auto Club Speedway, where Carlos Munoz won the race for the
second consecutive year.

Gabby Chaves finished second in Saturday’s race, falling short
in his bid to snatch the championship from Sam Schmidt Motorsports
teammate Karam.

Karam entered the race with a 16-point lead over Chaves. His
championship season was built on three wins, nine podiums, two
poles and 163 laps led.

It gave Schmidt his fourth consecutive Indy Lights title and
seventh overall. The 18-year-old Karam now has an opportunity to
move to IndyCar next season as the reigning champion.

Said Karam: ” I was crying on that last lap, just to know the
dream is almost in reach and to be in the IndyCar Series racing
with my heroes.”

Play Now!