Kyle Busch wins Indy Nationwide

As he has so often in the past, Kyle Busch utterly drubbed the
NASCAR Nationwide Series field in winning Saturday’s Indiana
250 race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in his No. 54 Joe Gibbs
Racing Toyota.

The victory was Toyota’s first at IMS since Gil de Ferran
won the 2003 Indianapolis 500.

Busch qualified on the pole and opened up a lead of 2 seconds on
the field by Lap 2 and from there was never headed. Brian Scott
passed Busch on a restart with six laps to go, but Busch took the
lead for good with three laps left.

The victory was Busch’s 59th career Nationwide win and
eighth of the season in just 15 starts. He led 92 of 100 laps

Scott finished a career-best second ahead of Joey Logano, Brian
Vickers and Kevin Harvick. Vickers won the $100,000 Nationwide
Series Dash 4 Cash bonus.

Sam Hornish Jr., the pre-race points leader, suffered an engine
failure and finished 34th. Austin Dillon is the new points leader.


Play Now!