Prelude to the Dream fast facts

Share This Story

foxsports admin

WHAT: Fifth Annual Prelude to the Dream WHERE: Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio (Half-mile dirt oval)
Who's running?
Which superstars will be taking part in the 2009 Prelude to the Dream? Here's the entry list.
Aric Almirola
Wendell Wallace
Dave Blaney
Tim Fuller
Clint Bowyer
Clint Bowyer
Kyle Busch
Scott Bloomquist
Ron Capps
Brian Ruhlman
Carl Edwards
Stacey Holmes
Bill Elliott
Ray Cook
Ray Evernham
Randle Chupp
Red Farmer
Steve Landrum
Jeff Gordon
Clint Smith
Robby Gordon
Scott Bloomquist
Denny Hamlin
Billy Moyer
Kevin Harvick
Shane McDowell
Jimmie Johnson
Clint Bowyer
Kasey Kahne
Eric Jacobsen
Matt Kenseth
Ernie Davis
Joey Logano
Jordan Bland
Casey Mears
Ryan Newman
Steve Francis
Cruz Pedregon
Cruz Pedregon
David Reutimann
Shane Holcomb
Ken Schrader
Ken Schrader
Tony Stewart
Mark Richards
David Stremme
Jeep Van Wormer
Brian Vickers
Kevin Rumley
Kenny Wallace
Ed Petroff
WHEN: 7 p.m. EDT on Wednesday, June 3, 2009 DISTANCE: Feature consists of 30 laps (preceded by hot laps, qualifying and heat races) CARS: Dirt late model stock cars PAST WINNERS:
  • 2008: Tony Stewart
  • 2007: Carl Edwards
  • 2006: Tony Stewart
  • 2005: Kenny Wallace THE TRACK: Half-mile dirt oval Banking: 24 degrees in the corners; 8 degrees on the straightaways Capacity: Reserved seating + suites + hillside seating = more than 20,000. About Eldora Speedway Eldora is a half-mile dirt racing facility located in western Ohio. The "Big E" is owned by two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Tony Stewart. The Indiana native purchased Eldora from legendary promoter Earl Baltes in 2004. Baltes built Eldora in 1954 and had been the sole owner of the facility for 50 years. Eldora plays host to some of the largest dirt racing events in the country, including the Prelude to the Dream, The Dream, Kings Royal, and World 100 — all of which attract more than 20,000 spectators on an annual basis.


    Most Victories: 2 — Tony Stewart (2006, 2008) Highest Percentage of Laps Led: 100 percent (Stewart led 30 of 30 laps — 2008) One-lap Qualifying Record: 15.436 seconds at 116.611 mph (Dave Blaney — 2008) Attendance: More than 23,000 (2008)


  • The live, commercial-free broadcast will begin at 7 p.m. EDT (4 p.m. PDT), with an immediate replay at 11 p.m. EDT (8 p.m. PDT).
  • All that is necessary to order the event is a digital cable box on one's TV or satellite service. A subscription to HBO is not required.
  • The suggested retail price is $24.95 and available to more than 71 million pay-per-view homes. Ordering information and up-to-the minute racing information is available at TV: HBO Pay-Per-View, 7 p.m. EDT, June 3, 2009
    Announcers: Larry McReynolds, Kyle Petty, Darrell Waltrip
    Pit Reporters: Dick Berggren, Matt Yocum
    Director: Artie Kempner
    Producer: Pam Miller


  • Five NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champions are scheduled to participate in the Fifth Annual Prelude to the Dream: Bill Elliott (1988), Jeff Gordon (1995, 1997, 1998, 2001), Tony Stewart (2002, 2005), Matt Kenseth (2003) and Jimmie Johnson (2006-2008).
    downlevel description
    This video requires the Adobe Flash Player. Download a free version of the player.
  • Six Daytona 500 winners are scheduled to participate in the Fifth Annual Prelude to the Dream, including the last five winners of the Great American Race: Elliott (1985), Gordon (1997, 1999, 2005), Johnson (2006), Kevin Harvick (2007), Ryan Newman (2008) and Kenseth (2009).
  • Drag racing standouts Ron Capps and Cruz Pedregon will compete in the Fifth Annual Prelude to the Dream. Capps has 28 career NHRA victories and has finished second in Funny Car points three times (1998, 2000 & 2005). Pedregon won the 1992 and 2008 NHRA Funny Car title and has 30 career victories.
  • The elite group of drivers in the Fifth Annual Prelude to the Dream has combined for a staggering 610 victories in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR Nationwide Series, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, IndyCar, NHRA, ARCA and IROC competition. (Sprint Cup — 299; Nationwide Series — 167; Camping World Truck — 29; IndyCar — 5; NHRA — 58; ARCA — 23; IROC — 29).
  • Red Farmer has more wins than anyone can count and despite finding box scores chiseled in stone with Red as the winner, Prelude officials could not obtain an accurate number of wins. Basically, Red's seen victory lane more than a few times.
  • A total of 22 major championships have been won by drivers in the Fifth Annual Prelude to the Dream: Sprint Cup [11] — Elliott (1988), Gordon (1995, 1997, 1998, 2001), Stewart (2002, 2005), Kenseth (2003), Johnson (2006-2008); IROC [3] — Kevin Harvick (2002), Kenseth (2004), Stewart (2006); Nationwide Series [5] — Harvick (2001, 2006), Brian Vickers (2003); Carl Edwards (2007); Clint Bowyer (2008) IndyCar Series [1] — Stewart (1997); NHRA Funny Car [2] — C. Pedregon (1992, 2008).
  • Tagged: Kyle Petty, Jeff Gordon, Matt Kenseth, Ryan Newman, Jimmie Johnson, Bill Elliott, Kevin Harvick, Tony Stewart, Carl Edwards, Clint Bowyer, Brian Vickers

    More Stories From foxsports admin

    More Than Sports on MSN

    Fox Sports Store

      itemName itemURL imageSrc price itemDescription
      Chase Authentics Danica Patrick Big Rig Tri-Blend T-Shirt - Charcoal 26.95 Chase Authentics Danica Patrick Big Rig Tri-Blend T-Shirt - Charcoal
      Kyle Busch One Spot Gauge T-Shirt - Black 19.95 Kyle Busch One Spot Gauge T-Shirt - Black
      Matt Kenseth One Spot Gauge T-Shirt - Black 9.99 Matt Kenseth One Spot Gauge T-Shirt - Black
      Chase Authentics Carl Edwards 2013 Driver Schedule T-Shirt - Ash 24.95 Chase Authentics Carl Edwards 2013 Driver Schedule T-Shirt - Ash