New rules help Dale Jr., Harvick get in Shootout

Share This Story

Lee Spencer

Lee Spencer is the Senior NASCAR Writer for She has provided award-winning coverage of auto racing over the last 15 years. Spencer has lent her expertise to both television and radio and is a regular contributor to SiriusXM Radio and the Performance Racing Network. Follow her on Twitter.

NASCAR is changing the eligibility rules for the Budweiser Shootout - again.

In a memo sent to race teams by NASCAR on Tuesday, candidates for the Shootout will include the 12 Chase for the Sprint Cup participants from the previous season, former Shootout, Daytona 500, and Coke Zero 400 winners, former NASCAR Cup champions and last year’s Raybestos Rookie of the Year.

After the Shootout moved away from rewarding the top qualifiers for the last 30 seasons and imposed amendments to the 2009 rules which included the top six in owner's points for each manufacturer and enabled representatives from all four car make to submit a “wild card“ entrant, the proposed rules for 2010 will be more inclusive and continue to qualify a minimum of 28 participants.

Drivers must have competed as recently as 2008 to be eligible in the past winner categories.

This decision comes after Dodge decreased its roster from seven teams to the three drivers currently under the Penske Racing banner.


  • How else can NASCAR help Dale Earnhardt Jr. in the Shootout
    • Take off his restrictor plate
    • Run a "slot" right to his pit box
    • Change his name to Danica

As a result, notable drivers that are now eligible to race in the Shootout that likely would not have been participating include:
  • Jamie McMurray (2007 Coke Zero 400 winner)
  • Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2001 Coke Zero 400 winner, 2004 Daytona 500 winner, 2003 and 2008 Budweiser Shootout winner)
  • Kevin Harvick (2007 Daytona 500 winner, 2009 Budweiser Shootout winner)
  • John Andretti (Coke Zero 400 winner)
  • Geoff Bodine (Daytona 500 winner, Budweiser Shootout winner)
  • Bill Elliott (former Cup champion, Daytona 500 winner, Coke Zero 400 winner, Budweiser Shootout winner)
  • Bobby Labonte (Cup champion)
  • Terry Labonte (Cup champion, Budweiser Shootout winner)
  • Sterling Marlin (Daytona 500 winner, Coke Zero 400 winner)
  • Ken Schrader (Budweiser Shootout winner)
  • Michael Waltrip (2001, 2003 Daytona 500 winner, 2002 Coke Zero 400 winner).
As of today, team owner Eddie Wood says Elliott will not drive the No. 21 Ford in the Shootout.

Drivers who would have made it under the old rules but are ineligible in 2010 include: AJ Allmendinger and Elliott Sadler (among the six best Fords), David Reutimann and Marcos Ambrose (among the six best Toyotas) and Sam Hornish Jr. and Brad Keselowski (among the six best Dodges).
Tagged: Bill Elliott

More Stories From Lee Spencer

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by

More Than Sports on MSN

Fox Sports Store

    itemName itemURL imageSrc price itemDescription
    Chase Authentics Danica Patrick Big Rig Tri-Blend T-Shirt - Charcoal 26.95 Chase Authentics Danica Patrick Big Rig Tri-Blend T-Shirt - Charcoal
    Kyle Busch One Spot Gauge T-Shirt - Black 19.95 Kyle Busch One Spot Gauge T-Shirt - Black
    Matt Kenseth One Spot Gauge T-Shirt - Black 9.99 Matt Kenseth One Spot Gauge T-Shirt - Black
    Chase Authentics Carl Edwards 2013 Driver Schedule T-Shirt - Ash 24.95 Chase Authentics Carl Edwards 2013 Driver Schedule T-Shirt - Ash