Cha Cha Changes: A Guide To NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Off-Season Changes

Martin Truex Jr., Ryan Newman and Mark Martin will all be changing roles and teams after Sunday’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Sunday’s Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway will be the last hurrah for an unusually high number of drivers in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series. 

In fact, more than one-quarter of the drivers who will start Sunday’s race at Homestead won’t be back in the same seat next year. Here’s a quick guide to who’s moving on and where they’re going.

Kevin Harvick — Sunday will be Harvick’s final race at Richard Childress Racing before moving to Stewart-Haas Racing, where he’ll drive the No. 4 SHR Chevrolet in 2014.

Kurt Busch — Following a sensational season with Furniture Row Racing, Busch is also headed to Stewart-Haas Racing. He’s expected to be in the No. 41 SHR Chevy next year. 

Mark Martin — With 882 career starts dating back to 1981, Martin has earned 40 victories and 271 top-five finishes. In 2014, he will become a test driver for Stewart-Haas Racing, as Tony Stewart is expected back at the helm of the No. 14 SHR Chevy. 

Juan Pablo Montoya — After finishing higher 17th in points just once in seven full seasons with Chip Ganassi, Montoya is moving to the Penske IndyCar team.

Ryan Newman — Next year, Newman will drive the No. 31 Richard Childress Racing Chevy, replacing Jeff Burton. 

Martin Truex Jr. — With his spot at Michael Waltrip Racing gone thanks to Spingate, Truex will head over to Furniture Row Racing’s No. 78 Chevy. 

Jeff Burton — "The Mayor," as he is known in the garage, said he will drive part-time next year, though he hasn’t said where.

Jeff Burton’s future in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series is up in the air. 

Dave Blaney — Michael Annett will move up from the NASCAR Nationwide Series and replace Blaney in the No. 7 Tommy Baldwin Racing Chevrolet next year. Blaney is currently unsigned. 

Ken Schrader — The veteran racer is retiring from NASCAR, though he’ll keep racing dirt cars in the Midwest.

Veteran Ken Schrader is not ready to hang up his helmet quite yet, but will retire from NASCAR competition after Sunday’s race at Homestead.

Michael McDowell — Next year, McDowell will move from Phil Parsons’ team to Leavine Family Racing and the No. 95 Ford.