Umps get it wrong, then get it right

Controversy struck early in Game 1 of the World Series.

In the bottom of the first inning with one out and runners at
first and second, the Cardinals got David Ortiz to ground one to
second for what was sure to be an easy inning-ending double play.
But, things got messy when Pete Kozma tried to transfer the ball to
his throwing hand before he had it secured in his glove.

 

Initially and almost unbelievably, second-base umpire Dana
DeMuth called Dustin Pedroia out at second. This, of course,
triggered the expected groan from the Boston crowd and a friendly
visit from Red Sox manager John Farrell.

Farrell must have made a convincing case, considering the whole
ump crew gathered to discuss the incident. Eventually, officials
came to the obvious conclusion that Pedroia was safe,
Ken Rosenthal writes.

After the call was reversed, the umps were paid yet another
friendly visit — this time from Cardinals manager Mike
Matheny.

Once everyone had their say and the correct call was made, play
continued. And, to the dismay of Cardinals fans everywhere, Mike
Napoli smacked a bases-clearing double to give Boston a 3-0
lead.

Though he hasn’t thrown a pitch for more than 100 years, Old
Hoss Radbourn still mocked poor Cardinals hurler Adam
Wainwright.

 

Here’s what the managers had to say about the play after the
game, which
Boston won 8-1.

FOX Fantasy Baseball Join or Create a Free League
Play Now!