Rays shortstop Yunel Escobar strikes out on a 4-2 pitch

Twins manager Ron Gardenhire and the umps await a replay review to determine the count on the Rays' Yunel Escobar.

Brian Blanco/Getty Images

 

Major League Baseball has acknowledged it failed to correct a pitch count after Tampa Bay shortstop Yunel Escobar struck out in an at-bat that was completed after a replay review.

After a replay delay of 1 minute, 47 seconds in Tuesday night’s game against Minnesota, umpires incorrectly ruled the count on Escobar was 3-2. Escobar struck out on the next pitch after already taking four balls.

”An error was made when replay officials and supervisors mistakenly thought one of the pitches was a foul ball when it was actually a ball,” MLB said in a statement.

Tampa Bay beat the Twins 7-3.

Both managers thought Escobar had drawn a walk.

"I don’t know. Strike five, Strike six," Gardenhire said. "I know there was a ball four somewhere in there. We all had ball four, but I was really happy with that, 3-2 is way better."

Maddon joked that he thought he was seeing thing.

"We just came off a day off," Maddon said. "It might have messed me up."