Padres botch hidden-ball trick

The San Diego Padres botch the hidden-ball trick in a game against the San Francisco Giants.

The first part of summer hasn't been kind to the San Diego Padres.

They recently suffered a 10-game losing streak from June 29 to July 8 and have fallen into last place in the NL West with a 41-53 record entering play on Saturday — they were 38-36 after a win over the Dodgers on June 21.

In Friday night's 10-1 loss at San Francisco, the Padres tried the old hidden-ball trick at second base . . . and couldn't even get that right.

In the video above — at the 39-second mark and in another replay at the 50-second mark — notice San Diego shortstop Everth Cabrera sneak up behind the Giants' Pablo Sandoval to apply the tag. But second-base umpire Laz Diaz doesn't call the runner out.


Because San Diego starter Sean O'Sullivan steps onto the mound.

Padres TV play-by-play announcer Dick Enberg explains the play would have worked had O'Sullivan stayed "off the circle."

Tough break for the Padres. Hey, it always seems to work in the movies.

But you have to love Sandoval's expression, which makes Enberg chuckle with a comment of "Sandoval looks at him (Cabrera) and says, 'Come on now. Don't be doing that to me.' "

NESN contributed to this report.

MLB Postseason Shop
Get The Fastest MLB
Scores, News and Alerts

Text yourself the FOX Sports App